English  Latviski  По русски 

Political system

The present Philippine Constitution was ratified in 1987 after an overwhelming result of a plebiscite. The Philippines has a democratic form of government which has 3 branches: the executive, legislative and judiciary.

The Executive Branch is composed of the President, who serves as the Chief of State and head of government, and is assisted by the Vice-President. The Cabinet is composed of Secretaries who are appointed by the President with the consent of the Commission on Appointments.

The Legislative Branch is the bicameral congress composed of members of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate has 24 members, the first half as determined by popular vote, serves a full 6-year term. The second half is elected every 3 years. Senators may serve for at most, 2 consecutive terms. The House of Representatives may be composed of at most 250 members. Members of the House of Representatives may serve for 3 consecutive terms, at most.

The Judicial Branch of the government, the Supreme Court, is headed by the Chief Justice and composed of justices appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial and Bar Council. Members can serve until they reach 70 years old.

  HOME Print Contacts Site map


     Last modified: 2021 year, 05 of May, 17:47