English  Latviski  По русски 


The present Philippine Constitution was ratified in 1987 after an overwhelming result of a plebiscite. The Philippines has a democratic form of government which has 3 branches: the executive, legislative and judiciary.

The Executive Branch is composed of the President, who serves as the Chief of State and head of the government, and is assisted by the Vice-President. The Cabinet is composed of Secretaries who are appointed by the President with the consent of the Commission on Appointments.

The Legislative Branch is the bicameral congress composed of members of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate has 24 members, the first half as determined by popular vote, serves a full 6-year term. The second half is elected every 3 years. Senators may serve for at most, 2 consecutive terms. The House of Representatives may be composed of at most 250 members. Members of the House of Representatives may serve for 3 consecutive terms, at most.

The Judicial Branch of the government, the Supreme Court, is headed by the Chief Justice and composed of justices appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial and Bar Council. Members can serve until they reach 70 years old.

Acting president:

Benigno “Noynoy” S. Aquino III
Date of Birth:
8 February 1960
Place of Birth: Manila

The acting President of the Republic of the Philippines Benigno “Noynoy” Simeon Cojuangco Aquino III is an economist by training and a public official by profession. Won presidential elections of 10th of May 2010. He served three terms as Congressman of the Second District of Tarlac before placing sixth in the May 2007 Senatorial elections that earned him a 6-year mandate as Senator of the Republic of the Philippines.

  HOME Print Contacts Site map


     Last modified: 2021 year, 05 of May, 17:47