English  Latviski  По русски 


The island of Luzon is the largest (total area with nearby islands is 109 965 km2) island of the Philippine archipelago and the 15th largest island in the world. It is located in the northern part of the Philippine Islands. Together with adjacent islands it forms an island group with the same name (Luzon). Apart from Luzon, this island group consists of Mindoro, Palawan (which sometimes is referred to the Visayas), Busuanga, Coron, Sibuyan, the Babuyan archipelago and other islands.

To the west Luzon is surronded by the South China sea and to the east - by the Philippine Sea.

Luzon has a quite complex relief, which has combinations of mountains, intermontane and coastal plains. Also the largest mountain range in the Philippines - the Cordilleras, is situated there, as well as the highest point of the island (and the second highest in the country) - Mount Pulag, which is 2922 m high. Luzon island has active volcanoes, including the famous Mayon and Taal and also the largest lake in the country - Laguna de Bay. 

 In Manila Bay the capital of the Philippines - Manila is situated.

 The island of Cebu, or "the Queen of the South", attracts tourists with its history, beautiful beaches and resorts, nightlife and the hospitality of the locals.

 Cebu is located in the central part of the Philippine archipelago (in the Visaya island group), to the east of Negros Island and to the west of Leyte. To the southeast of Cebu Bohol island is located.

 Cebu Island is of elongated shape and extends from north to south for 225 km (the island is 45 km wide). The total area of Cebu toghether with nearby islands is approx. 4 943 km2.

 Western and eastern coasts of the island are divided by the mountain range, maximum height of which is about 1000 m.

 Together with the surrounding islands, of which the biggest is Mactan, Cebu forms one of the provinces. 

 The capital of the island of Cebu - Cebu City, is located on the island's east coast, opposite the island of Mactan. Cebu city is the second largest and the oldest city in the Philippines. It has the oldest Spanish fortress, the very first street, the very first school and so on. Cebu city was also the first capital of the independent Philippines.

 Even after moving the capital to Manila, Cebu continued to maintain a dominant role in the southern region, being one of the main ports and local markets. The basis of local economy is agriculture and, above all, cultivation of sugar cane.

Boracay island is considered to be one of the most beautiful islands in the world. It is famous for its marvelous white beaches with fine, silky, flour-like sand, exotic tropical nature, natural caves, clean emerald sea - the home of  many different species of corals (including the unique blue coral), which provide shelter to various kinds of colourful tropical fishes.

Boracay is located in the central part of the Philippine archipelago and is 315 km south from Manila and 2 kilometres away from the northwest tip of Panay island.

Boracay is 7 km long and about 1 km wide in its middle part. Its total area is a little more than 10 km2. The height of Boracay's highest point - Mount Laho - is about 100 m above sea level.

Palawan island is the most western of the main islands of the Philippines and the centre of Palawan province.

According to American magazine «National Geographic Traveller» in 2007 Palawan was recognized as the best tourist destination among the islands of East and South-East Asia and took 13th place in the list of the best islands in the world.

Palawan is located in the western part of the Philippine archipelago and is situated between Kalimantan Island (Borneo), which belongs to Indonesia and Malaysia and Philippinian island Mindoro. The island is separated from Borneo by the strait of Balabak. Palawan lies between the South China Sea and Sulu Sea.

Palawan is usually referred to the island group of Luzon. It is included into Mimaropa region (Region IV-B). In 2005 an attempt to include Palawan into the Western region of Visayas (Region VI) and, respectively, into Visayas island group, took place, however, this attempt was not carried out, so up to this day the question of regional afilliation is still not solved.  

Palawan province is the largest in the Philippines and consists of about 1 780 islands. The layer of water conceals reefs, which cover the area of 11 000 km2. Geologically, Palawan is the direct continuation of Kalimantan island (Borneo), which belongs to Indonesia and Malaysia, since these two islands once constituted a single land. A very clear evidence of this is the fact, that flora and fauna of these islands have many similar species, while Palawan is significantly different in biological diversity from other islands of the Philippines.

The island of Palawan is 425 km long and from 8.5 to 40 km wide. Its total area (along with nearby islands) is approx. 14 649 km2.

The island of Bohol is the tenth largest island of the Philippine archipelago. It is a tropical paradise, surrounded by white sand beaches. Bohol is also the largest island of Bohol province, as well as the well-known center of tourism and diving.

Bohol is located southeast of the island of Cebu and north of Mindanao.

Bohol is a volcanic island. Its maximal height is 870 m above sea level.

Its total area (along with nearby islands) is 4 820 km2.

Bohol is surrounded by 70 smaller islands, the largest of which -  Panglao, is connected with Bohol via highway.

The island's capital - the city of Tagbilaran (with the population of more that 92 thousand people), is located in the southwestern part of Bohol.

The island of Mindoro is the seventh largest island in the Philippine archipelago. Its name comes from Spanish Mina de Oro – “a gold mine”.

Mindoro island is interesting and picturesque. Also the island has one practical advantage - it takes only 1-1,5 hour to get there from Manila. Tourists just have to take a ferry boat from Luzon. 

Mindoro is situated south of Luzon (it also belongs to Luzon's island group) and is separated from it by Verde strait. 

Mindoro is mostly a mountainous island. The highest point of Mindoro is Chalcone mountain, which is 2 582 m high.

The island's total area is a bit more than 10 km2.

Mindoro is administratively divided into two provinces – Occidental Mindoro and Oriental Mindoro.

Mindoro island is famous for Tamarana, which is a variety of Asian dwarf buffalo.

Samar island is the most eastern from large islands in the Philippine archipelago. Its area together with surrounding islands is 6 048 km2. Samar is connected with Luzon via ferry and with Leyte via bridge.

The island of Mindanao is the second largest (94.6 km2) island in the whole Philippine archipelago. The highest point of the country - Mount Apo, is located on Mindanao. The biggest city of the island is Davao. Most of the island's population are Muslim.


  HOME Print Contacts Site map


     Last modified: 2021 year, 05 of May, 17:47